Why I Don’t Hate Demi Lovato

5 Sep

I’m not even going to lie. It took me a while to decide whether or not I was going to publish this post today. I was almost embarrassed to say that I actually like Demi Lovato and that I actually like her music. Not just one song, a ton of them. Like now I have a whole Pandora station dedicated to her. That’s a big deal these days. 

I know that most musical snobs (like myself) associate Disney stars that turn pop-sensations with bad music. And who can blame us, right? Auto-tune cannot cover up lack of expression and shitty lyrics as much as one can try to do so (ex: Selena Gomez, Miley Cyrus). And you know what, we can’t even blame poor Selena and Miley for these things because chances are, they probably like their own music, and they’re making millions so good for them. 

Demi Lovato impressed me with this last album though. Her split with the Jonas Brothers was probably the best thing that ever happened to her. She has this R&B thing going on and it actually gives me goosebumps. 

Demi Lovato also has real problems. She was treated for bulimia, bi-polar disorder…and she admitted her condition and she didn’t try to hide anything. It’s bad enough that she was battling with herself to take control over her own life, but when you have a million people following you whether it be virtually or literally, you have to be a whole lot stronger to get by. 

If I were 13, she’d be my role model. The music business is an ugly ugly world and it seems like she just took the devil by it’s horns and rode it like a carousel. 

You go girl. 

 

One Response to “Why I Don’t Hate Demi Lovato”

  1. Matthew Chiglinsky November 30, 2012 at 10:07 PM #

    Labeling Demi Lovato as a role model may be taking it a little too far, with the tattoos and the occasional sexually suggestive dancing and song lyrics, which are things that parents may or may not approve of depending on their particular religious or cultural leanings.

    But her life is certainly a cautionary tale: Don’t bury your emotional problems because they may eventually boil to the surface and cause real problems.

    What I really don’t understand are the people who seem to hate her. They coldly make light of her issues by calling her fake or saying she’s being overly dramatic, or they even insult the way she looks, which is really insensitive considering that insecurity about her body is something she and many other females have dealt with for years. Especially when someone actually resorts to cutting herself in order to relieve anxiety, I think people should take that person’s issues seriously. (But, of course, the Internet is unfortunately full of mean, hateful people who don’t care about anything.)

    I kind of feel sorry for all the young celebrities out there who crash: Amy Winehouse, Britney Spears, Lindsay Lohan. They were all healthy at one point, but then things went wrong. (Well, Britney, at least seems to have recovered to a certain extent.) I don’t condemn them for leading rich, pampered lives, because everyone experiences his/her life differently, and money doesn’t guarantee happiness. The gossip news treats it all like entertainment, but celebrities are real people whose lives are often in self-destruct mode, and I think they need a little more sympathy.

Leave a Reply

