Let’s Review: Premiere Issue of Cosmopolitan “For Latinas”

5 Jun

Get Ready…It’s the moment you’ve all been waiting for. I finally got my hand on the premiere issue of Cosmo for Latinas. You’d be surprised if you knew how many Duane Reades I had to go to before I could find it…Very interesting.

I’m not going to talk about how Zoe Saldana is on the cover because everyone else who had anything to say about this mag already made such a big deal about it. However, I do have a lot to say in regards to what else was within these pages or should I say paginas? (jajaja)

So, we won’t start with the cover but how about we start off with the very first ad-

A very pale Sofia Vergara. Funny right? Stereotypical Latinas – dark skin. The “ideal” Latina, Sofia- now white? No entiendo. 

The magazine had no real music section however on pages 30-31 they feature a “Cultura Clash”- I must say say that this is probably the only part of the mag that I genuinely liked. The article covers the different types of Latino dances: Merengue, Salsa, Bachata, Tango and La Quebradito.

But on that same page what do I see at the bottom? :

Mexican Slang of the Season” (SEND US YOUR FAVORITE!) – Nalgaso: the beatdown that’s coming when Mami finds your birth control pills. 

-although this one was funny (and I could relate). I’m not sure if picking on the Mexican race for using slang would be the best approach to attract Latinas…

The next page made me say “Wow, really?”A quiz titled “Which Telenovela Star Are You?” And guess what guys….I’m “La Fea”….Dios. 

The Stylista section wasn’t nearly as insulting as I had expected. It does give suggestions on how to shop for jeans but being that shopping for jeans gives me anxiety, I didn’t mind the pointers.

The beauty section was pretty general, with the exception of “Baby, Get Back”- Yes, that’s right muchachas, all about our Latina booties. How to scrub, conceal, tan and lots moer to make our butt (apparently the only part of us that matters) flawless!

The REAL TALK Feature was disappointing. “How to be La Loca” was the title…Not even gonna go there.

I had fun with the Divertida section of the magazine. It was Mexican themed. How to throw a Mexican fiesta, recipes (actually good ones, not tacos and quesadillas but pozole and empanadas)

To end my review, let’s look at the last page shall we. “Mami Says!”  ” Your mom says what? Post her craziest thoughts!”

Hm…no thank you Cosmo. Anywho, we’ll see what happens in the next issue (if they have one). Hasta luego !

PS: if you have some time….watch this video.

2 Responses to “Let’s Review: Premiere Issue of Cosmopolitan “For Latinas””

  1. star July 26, 2012 at 12:31 AM #

    You realize that Sofia Vergara is just naturally light right? There’s nothing she can do about it unless she wants skin cancer.

    • ashleykervabon92 July 26, 2012 at 4:15 PM #

      I know she’s naturally light. But not albino white like she is in the Covergirl ad. I have no problem with light-skinned latinas. I’m one myself.

Leave a Reply

