It’s A Hard Knock Life For Us (Girls) / #girlproblems

7 May

It’s so hard being a girl. We have to pretty, we have to be skinny, we have to be smart enough to get a good job, we have to be nice to our boyfriends and we can’t lose our temper. We must do all of the above effortlessly AND at the same time, we are expected to not obsess over our looks,(still) be paid less than men and be independent but still manage to have a loving relationship with our significant other. Guys on the other hand, can just roll out of bed in the morning, start screaming about how much they hate everyone and they’ll still be “just a guy”. Meanwhile if one of us girls did something like that, we’d be “THAT crazy b****”.

Am I the only one who thinks those expectations are absolutely insane? But let me go in further detail so you can fully understand me. Let’s start with our weight. If we aren’t a size 2, we aren’t just “unhealthy” but we’re also “unacceptable”. The media has created this image of the ideal woman who is thin. This annoys me for two reasons, one being that I think this look is extremely unattractive, and two, if you aren’t naturally thin, this type of “beauty” is unattainable. No amount of dieting, detoxing,exercising or even liposuction can make anyone look like that. Fortunately, I think people are starting to realize that being super thin isn’t the right look either. But then what happens to these girls who are naturally thin? We’re all either too fat or too skinny, its like we can never win!
Let’s move on to what I like to call the three “s” words. Sexy, Stylish and Slutty. Being sexy is cool but being too sexy is slutty? And on top of that let’s not forget we have to be stylish. My question is how do we define those words? How do we know what “s” word we are? For example, let’s say I went out in a tight mini-dress with fishnets and heels. Sexy, stylish or slutty? It seems like I just can’t get it right with this one.
To conclude my rant, I would like to express my confusion on independence. My mom always encouraged me to be independent. She said that I had to get myself through college and get a real job so that I can be successful and not need a man to support me.
This was always fuzzy to me because at the same time she was telling me that I had to always look pretty so that I could pick up  a good guy, and by “good” she meant one who happened to have rich parents…
So now I’m thinking this: I can be independent, I can have my own job, my own money, my own apartment, as long as I have a man? And  I can acquire all of the above by being attractive as long as I don’t go out of my way to flaunt my attractiveness?
That’s right, right?
Ugh.
#girlproblems
2 Responses to “It’s A Hard Knock Life For Us (Girls) / #girlproblems”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. That’s What She Said – Our Proposal « greeneyedjupiter - May 27, 2012

    […] that are planted in our heads by television, the internet, magazines and newspapers. These problems consist of lack of self-esteem, feeling overwhelmed, depression, eating disorders and suicide. […]

  2. What Makes A Girl A Slut?…Truth. « greeneyedjupiter - May 31, 2012

    […] DRESSING PROMISCUOUSLY- Imagine this: you see a group of girls at a party wearing tight,low cut shirts and miniskirts. What do you think to yourself? If you’re a guy, would you go talk to one of those girls versus a girl wearing a t-shirt and jeans when looking for a quick booty call? (If you’re a girl, read the next bullet point, also read my post on #girlproblems.) […]

Leave a Reply

