Familia

2 May

There are many times in our life when we take advantage of the things we have, the people around us, just because we think that they’ll always be there. We never think to thank them, or go out of our way to see them or do something nice for them. This is the problem with most people. We hope for the best but never expect the worst, so when the worst comes it catches up to us and kicks our ass.

Hearing the story of Jonel Gonzalez made me think of all of the “thank yous” I must owe my family. Sure, we’ve had our problems, what families don’t have problems? But at the end of the day, they’re family and that’s what matters. I can’t imagine what it would be like to lose one family member, but seven? All in one car accident…I just can’t even imagine how much that hurts.

This post isn’t entirely  to talk about Jonel Gonzalez though, because although I feel terrible for him, I don’t know him so I can’t speak for him and as tragic as this event is, we can’t rewind time to bring his family back. It’s the unfortunate truth of life. But what we can do right now is donate to his cause. We can also remember to appreciate our family when we have them close to us, because you never know what can happen.

So this post is for my family. Thank you, thank you and thank you x infinity.

Leave a Reply

