The Night I Discovered by Briana Sepulveda

30 Apr

I’ve decided that I really like having guest writers on my blog. A lot of  young writers like myself don’t often get to expose their work to the world, and I don’t think that’s fair. If musicians can have Youtube, we need a place to show off too don’t we? Anyway, here is a story that touched me by the very talented Bree Sepulveda. Up next…poetry by Bree! 

The Night I Discovered

            “William, we’re walking in circles,” I groaned.  We had passed the same deli twice in Astoria since we left the party, and the wind was slipping through my coat and cutting my legs like frozen blades.

“No we’re not, I know it’s around here somewhere… this way,” After making a right and walking down a long dark block of parked cars and garbage bags, we came across a busy Greek restaurant.  My thoughts began to race once I saw the bright lights glowing through the windows, anticipating warm food in my tummy and shelter from the cold icy night.

Before I knew it, Will and I were seated across from each other by a window seat.  We  hung our coats off the back of our chairs, revealing our overdressed attires and absorbing the heat from the lamps and kitchen.  I kept my cell phone on my lap since the blue dress I was wearing didn’t have pockets, and skimmed over the menu that the waitress brought us.  Will reached across the table and softly closed it.

“You’re going to let me order for you,” he said, sporting his usual grin with promise in his eyes.  I never tried Greek food before, and since I felt exhausted I was a bit relieved that Will was eager to order for me – despite the fact that I had no idea what to expect.  It was something about the excitement in his voice that caught my attention.  That excitement was rare when it came to Will, or at least in the ways he happened to express it. The thought of him ordering for me was unexpectedly comforting.

The waitress brought us a hot cheese dish that resembled pizza but smelled like lemon juice, and potatoes with some kind of meat stuffed inside them.  Will pointed to the cheese, and I took a bite.

“Wow… Will this is amazing!” He nodded, satisfied with himself.

“‘Told you.”

The anxiety I was feeling from the party quickly began to subside, and the warmth that radiated from the kitchen felt nice against my arms.  It was just me and Will, the sound of busy utensils clinking from the tables alongside us, and absolutely no blasting pop music that he resented.

“That damned hipster music,” he muttered, “that’s not real music, just a lott’a noise.”

“Oh really?” I raised an eye brow, “Then what exactly is real music?”  Will shook his head at my ignorance.

“There’s a Japanese DJ that you haven’t heard of – and I know you never will, because I’m never going to show you,” he winked as I shoveled another fork full of food into my mouth, “other than that, Love Language, Oasis…”  I stared at him blankly as he continued to list the secret bands he liked.  He sighed and ran his fingers through his hair that dangled over his eyes.  I took a sip of water.

“I’ll have to look them up when I get home,” I said, as I always concluded when I didn’t know what Will was talking about. He always took an interest in the littlest things.  While many seventeen year old boys chased girls and played sports, Will enjoyed sitting under a tree with his guitar and walking through the rain with no destination in mind.  When other boys worried about their snap backs matching their Jordans, Will took the time to take a hand watch apart and try to put it back together.  That was what I always admired about him: he was himself.

“Thank you for coming with me tonight,” My eyes lowered towards my plate, “I’m sorry about my drama and if it was awkward.” The birthday party we attended was a little uncomfortable.  Booze were everywhere, the music was heavy, and the dress that I was wearing was much too formal for the occasion.  On top of everything, my best friend wasn’t talking to me and made sure I knew she was better off without me.  Especially, when she laughed at my outfit in front of everyone.  Will took the last bite of his potato dish.

“I didn’t think it was very awkward,” he gulped, “You looked like a mess the whole time, though.”  I chuckled bitterly and peered through the glass at the darkness of the night.  Will also had a tendency of being brutally honest.  He finished his glass of water, “You know, it’s her loss really.”  I kept looking at the parked cars across the street, absentmindedly naming each model I recognized in my head.

“Is that right?” I said, letting a bit of resentment slip out.

“She’s missing out on a good dinner, and being with two very attractive people like ourselves.”  I glanced at Will, who looked very pleased with himself.  I smiled, feeling a little more comfortable.

“You’re right, this was a very good dinner.”

On our way home that night, as Will and I sat together on the train, something inside clicked.  I realized how comfortable he made me feel at the party and at the restaurant, and how he always seemed to make me feel relaxed.  When I looked at him, it was as if he had been by my side for many years, and I began to look forward to see him there in the future.  I couldn’t believe I was thinking this, but I was falling for my best boy friend.  The only question was, could he feel the same way about me?

Leave a Reply

