Seventeen Magazine, no more photoshop?/Julia Bluhm is my hero.

30 Apr

Thank you Julia Bluhm for obviously keeping up with my blog.

Okay, I’m kidding. Julia Bluhm probably has no idea who I am or anything about my blog HOWEVER she is doing something that I have been thinking about for awhile. All of my recent blog posts prove that I am totally against the way the media portrays women and think that there should be something done about it. I have even considered starting my own magazine because of this.  Julia Bluhm- a THIRTEEN year old student from Maine, started a petition on Change.org, asking Seventeen magazine to commit to having at least one unaltered photoshoot in their issue every month. What she says in her petition, I have been saying for the past few months and I’m glad someone as young as her can realize what the media is doing to girls her age, and even young women my age. Here is her statement :

“Those “pretty women” that we see in magazines are fake. They’re often photoshopped, air-brushed, edited to look thinner, and to appear like they have perfect skin. A girl you see in a magazine probably looks a lot different in real life.

That’s why I’m asking Seventeen Magazine to commit to printing one unaltered — real — photo spread per month. I want to see regular girls that look like me in a magazine that’s supposed to be for me.”

If that last line doesn’t convince Seventeen to change things I don’t know what will.

Julia Bluhm, you have my support, I have already signed and would sign multiple times if I could. Everyone else, please sign here.

2 Responses to “Seventeen Magazine, no more photoshop?/Julia Bluhm is my hero.”

  1. ashleykervabon92 April 30, 2012 at 8:53 PM #

    Reblogged this on Investigating Media 007 and commented:

    Hey guys, just thought you should check this out. Finally, someone is fighting photoshopping, airbrushing and whatnot.

    • Eleanor May 4, 2012 at 9:14 PM #

      Please! Can we do something about these photo shopped pictures?

Leave a Reply

