Love: A Writer’s Definition

25 Apr

I’m no psychologist or counselor, even though at times I think I am, but it makes sense that anyone who has ever been in love before has some kind of say in how they would define that one simple word. “Love”. There are always so many questions that people ask themselves about love. My whole life I have been told “love is complicated”, when I really don’t think it is. People make relationships complicated, and maybe they mistake that for love? I’m not sure. But what I can tell you is what I think love is…

Being a writer, every night before I go to bed, I try to write some feelings down in my notebook just to help me sort out everything that may have happened on that particular day. If an event happens more than once, I usually don’t write about the same things twice. It just doesn’t make sense to me. But one day I found myself writing about my boyfriend. Not anything in particular, but just writing. I would write to him, about him, about us, and two weeks later I had filled up an entire journal all about him. No amount of words could explain how I feel about him. I have tried writing poetry, songs, a play, a comedy sketch, and yet I’m still here writing this blog post. Writing a blog post only so that I can tell you about how much I love my boyfriend.

To me, that’s love.

 

Leave a Reply

