Love, Life and…Mom?

22 Apr

I realized something about myself last night.

I might have been blaming Ex-Boy (read here ) for too much of my relationship phobia.

I am not going to apologize of course because he was still a huge asshole. However, I am going to explain how I came to this conclusion.

My mother and I have not always seen eye to eye when it comes to boys, relationships, whatever. We tend to disagree on what is or isn’t important when deciding who to date. We also disagree on what the whole purpose of dating is. But last night, for the first time in my entire life, my mother gave me the “okay”. She finally met my boyfriend of (almost) one year and I think she may have even liked him.

The best part is I didn’t even tell him what to say or what not to say…She just liked him for who he is (just like I do and just like I knew she would) and that made me so very happy. The night went perfectly. There were no arguments, interrogations, throwing things, etc. We all just talked like normal people do at dinner.

I’m still in some state of shock because it went so well. I’m half expecting it to all be a dream or for Ashton Kutcher to show up and scream “You just got Punk’d”, but if this isn’t the case, I would like to make a huge shout out to my mom and tell her that I am so proud of her for overcoming our differences in taste and morals and whatnot.

So there it is. This whole time I may have still been holding back because I was waiting for some kind of approval from my mom. Before last night this may have seemed ridiculous to me but now not so much. So, cheers, Mom. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

