A Little Rant About Growing Up

18 Apr

Today I’m going to write about growing up. This is simply because today I realized that I am probably more grown up than I thought I was. This is not only good, but I’m also quite proud of myself. I have always wanted to be independent, successful, and I might just be on my way. Sure there are plenty of shitty side effects that come along with growing up like paying rent, getting a job to pay rent, actually holding a job so that you can pay rent, and going to college so that you can get a better job to pay more rent, etc. However there are also plenty of good things that came with growing up.

The one that I want to talk about is my relationship with my parents. I know I have already written about my relationship with my mom, but I don’t think I realized until today that my parents really are my best friends. I landed my first real internship today at timessquare.com (yay) and the first people I called were my parents. Not only because I wanted them to be proud of me but also because I just wanted to share that part of my life with them. It makes me feel good that I can talk to them without fighting now.

What no one ever bothered to tell me when I was a teenager ( or, most likely what I didn’t want to hear from anyone) was that my parents were going to love me and support me no matter what. And that they have done. Throughout this whole year of ups and downs, we’ve been through a tornado of changing events and our bond is still pretty strong. Maybe even unbreakable. And I’d like to thank growing up for that.

Leave a Reply

