#youngadultproblems

24 Mar

I’m going to be personal with you for a bit. 

I’ve been kinda sad lately. And this morning I had an epiphany. The reason for my sadness is my own stupidity.

I have been thinking quite a bit about the future. I have made a six-month plan, a one year plan, a five year plan… and let me tell you something. That has left me nothing except endless thoughts that start off with “what-ifs”. And these “what-ifs” have often lead to disappointment and discouragement.

To avoid feeling discouraged and disappointment, I try to think about this:

I’m only twenty years old. I am currently doing everything a twenty year old is supposed to be doing. I go to school full-time, work part -time, do extra-curricular activities, and have a social life.

But then, I can’t help myself from thinking: but is that REALLY what a twenty year old is “supposed” to be doing?

WHAT IF I can’t get an internship before I graduate and have no job when I get out of college?

WHAT IF I have to work in restaurants my entire life for $10 an hour?!

There you have it. I did it again.

But worry not-

I have found a solution. 

Forget the six-month plan, one-year plan, and five-year plan. Live one day at a time because you never know what can happen in 24 hours or even in 60 minutes.

So here’s a note to all of you OCD college students (takes one to know one) : Chill the F$%# out, and WHAT IF you tried this with me. Have goals but don’t plan them out like a trip to the supermarket.

 

One Response to “#youngadultproblems”

  1. aumentar masa muscular March 25, 2012 at 12:36 PM #

    Hey there! I’ve been following your weblog for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Atascocita Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the excellent work!

Leave a Reply

