Edited, Censored and Photoshopped

22 Feb

I had an epiphany today.

I am a frequent reader of magazines like Seventeen and Cosmo and while I read them I always ask myself questions about why some things are the way they are. Let it be known now that I am not trying to offend Seventeen or Cosmo (because I do want to work for their super successful company this summer), however I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way.

For example…. why have Dakota Fanning and Selena Gomez been on the cover of Cosmo in the past two months? I don’t know about Selena, but I’m pretty sure Dakota is like…16. Is that even legal? That just doesn’t sound logical to me.

Now here’s the big question…even in the super “sad, real life” stories in Seventeen, why do the stories all have happy endings? Any “real” girl would know that unfortunately you can’t always have your cake and eat it too.

This is my idea… If I were to ever run my own magazine, I would try to make it as “real” as possible. None of that happy ending crap. None of that put minors on the cover next to “His Best Sex Ever” headlines.

After a lot of thought, I’ve decided that my ultimate goal is now to start and successful run and have people read my magazine. And not just read it as in “I’m reading Cosmo (actually just skimming through to see what looks scandalous or has nice pictures)”. I want girls, young women, to go out of their way to read this magazine because they know everything is real and everything is not just some edited, censored, photoshopped bullshit.

Anyone that agrees/disagrees, I would love to hear from you. Also, titles for this potential magazine would be greatly appreciated.

 

 

2 Responses to “Edited, Censored and Photoshopped”

  1. Coenzyme Q10 March 20, 2012 at 11:29 PM #

    I am really inspired along with your writing skills and also with the layout to your weblog. Is this a paid subject or did you modify it yourself? Anyway stay up the nice quality writing, it’s uncommon to peer a nice weblog like this one these days..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Seventeen Magazine, no more photoshop?/Julia Bluhm is my hero. « greeneyedjupiter - April 30, 2012

    […] about my blog HOWEVER she is doing something that I have been thinking about for awhile. All of my recent blog posts prove that I am totally against the way the media portrays women and think that there should be […]

Leave a Reply

